Hope found another

​Self-destruction and pity parties,

There’s a storm brewing inside.

There’s a calmness

That brings in voices

Not so calm, after all.

A deluge of wandering thoughts,

Form a skull-like facade,

Warning me to step back,

Until I’m backed into a wall.

“Let me out”, I say,

“Let us in”, they whisper.

Whispers turn to shouts,

And there’s lightning and there’s thunder,

“Where will you go? How far can you run?”

And I look up at them,

The voices fading out

As I see them for what they are,

Wandering thoughts in my head,

Taking shape of my deepest, darkest fears.

“I don’t run”, I whisper.

“I don’t run”, I shout.

And love lost its way

But hope found another.

Leave a Reply

